Welcome to Module 2!

I’m really pleased with the work you did on Module 1; nice job! Hopefully, you were able to explore at least two tools and think a bit about how blogging might (or might not) work for your class.

Module 2 is all about Collaboration and Sharing. We’re going to look at tools that help you work collaboratively with fellow faculty or with students, as well as tools that help you share resources with groups. The four specific tools are:

  • Google docs
  • Wikispaces
  • Weebly
  • LiveBinders

To complete your work for this week, please choose TWO out of the four to explore. Follow the steps and then comment on this post with your thoughts. As always, please email me or comment on this post for help!

Google docs

Step 1

Watch this 2.5 minute video on Google Docs in Plain English

Step 2

Visit a few of these resources about using Google docs in the classroom:

Step 3

Browse through Google’s lesson plans. See the screenshots below for tips on limiting your results (click image to enlarge).

googleappsforeducation

Click to englarge

Wikispaces

Step 1

Watch Introduction to Wikispaces (there are MANY other great video tutorials on this page, too)

Watch Wikis in Plain English

Step 2

Check out a few of these classroom wikis:

Step 3

Visit Wikispaces and register for a free account. Once you do, you will have to create a new wiki. Call it anything you like. Then do the following (screencast follows, with help):

    1. Click on “settings” (top right)
    2. Click on “general” on the left
    3. Select “Wiki” under Application Type, then scroll down and save
    4. Click on “Wiki Home” (top right)
    5. Click “edit” to edit your new wiki!

Weebly

Step 1

Watch “Welcome to Weebly”

Read about Collaborative Website Editing and watch the video on the page

Step 2

Visit some of the following classroom Weebly sites.

Step 3

Visit Weebly for Education and create a free account. Once you finish registering, you can watch a demo or create a website (I do not recommend setting up a class just yet). If you choose to create a website, Weebly will walk you through the steps. Try creating your site by dragging and dropping different elements onto the page!

Livebinders

Step 1

Watch this 1.5 minute video on LiveBinders for Teachers.

Step 2

Explore some of these classroom LiveBinders.

Step 3

Register on the LiveBinders website and click the “create binder” tab. Create a LiveBinder with at least one web page. When you set up your binder, use the following settings: Type in a title and description. Don’t worry about adding tabs. Select the “Education” category and make your binder public.

12 thoughts on “Welcome to Module 2!

  1. I am very familiar with Google Docs, Weebly (Website building in general), and Wiki. I am going to spend my time with LiveBinder since I don’t know it. Hopefully, it translates to my courses.

    • Yes I am replying to my own post. LiveBinder seems great for organizing research based assessments. It looks a lot cooler than when I put links into a word document for them to use when researching. I can appreciate the out of the classroom allure but to use it in the classroom requires constant access to a computer, so I don’t see it replacing the 3 ring binder as it states. I would love a way to make their notebooks digital. I am still trying to figure out more of its functionality versus the aesthetics it offers.

  2. Hi! I am also very familiar with google docs, and I have looked into Weebly, LiveBinders, etc., BUT I dont find those particular document share and organizing interfaces to be very useful in my Kindergarten class. I have found that my time is better spent trying to develop my current wordpress blog to hopefully introduce it to my parents before Hanukkah.

    • Hi there, have you thought about how you might use any of these tools to collaborate with fellow teachers? Google docs can be a great way to share work among multiple people. LiveBinders can be a way to share recommended websites with parents, too–especially over long holidays, if you want your students to have the option of reinforcing certain skills.

  3. I have explored these other options, but in the Early Childhood department I think we are going to spend more time becoming confident with the wordpress blog. Many of the elements of these sites are not developmentally appropriate for the age group ( 2,3,4 years of age) of our students and the families we work with.

    • I think it’s great for you guys to be focusing on your blogs, but I encourage you to think about how Google docs might support some of the work the EC faculty has to complete. I remember a long discussion in our meeting about writing observations–Google docs could be a great way to share workload, collaborate, etc. Not all of these tools are just for kids! Some of them are to intended to spark ideas for supporting faculty as well.

  4. google docs was fun to check out. I know my 3 children have used it so I liked getting an overview of it. I could see using it to send our drafts to Michelle for our EC peek of the week, or among our coworkers in our individual rooms, but not for use in the EC2 classroom! It would be fun to get our lesson plans on the computer and then we could send them back and forth for collaboration. Those are still handwritten out.

  5. Sarah- Nancy and I have had a weebly website that is linked to the school homepage for a few years. We are developing a Hebrew page on each of these with Maya so that long term assignments, links, upcoming information etc can be accessed on one page for the parents. I like the flexibility it offers us and the way pages can be hidden but not have to be rewritten, just tweaked, when assigning them. As a team we have tried to use Google docs for report card sharing as well.

  6. I want to create a web quest for the 8th grade. I need to be able to have live links to internet information and also links to teacher made materials. what is the best platform for this?
    Secondly, I would like to make our Facebook project interactive in that students could upload their pages and other students could read the information and comment. What would be the best way to do that?

Leave a Reply

